09 November 2006

The Birth of A Nation - The Rulers of Melaka

"Balairong Seri (Assembly Hall), Melaka Sultanate Palace"

Sultan Mansor Shah succeeded his father, Sultan Muzaffar Shah in 1458 and during his reign Melaka reached the peak of its glory. This was largely attributed to Tun Perak, the Bendahara. He was responsible for Melaka's rise to power in maritime Southeast Asia, as well as a leading figure in Melakan politics for 42 years. Tun Perak built a formidable fighting force and had brave young warriors under his command.
Five legendary heroes under his leadership were Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat, Hang Lekir, Hang Lekiu and Hang Kasturi. They were also known as the "Five Companions". Sultan Mansor Shah was succeeded by his son, Sultan Alauddin Riayat Shah. He was an enterprising and able ruler but died young and was replaced by the last de facto sultan of Melaka, Sultan Mahmud Shah. The Melakan Malay Sultanate heritage was extended to most of the other Malay states, especially in Perak, Pahang and Johor.
Sultan Mahmud Shah's elder son, Sultan Muzaffar Shah I became the first Sultan of Perak while his younger son, Sultan Alauddin Riayat Shah II started a sultanate in Johor. Melaka, during the 15th and 16th century also had a society which adhered to certain rules. There existed and adminitrative and political system established by Seri Maharaja which arrangements and rules form the basis of Malaysia's administrative monarchial system today.
The system was called the "Four Great Lords" where the Sultan(Ruler of the country) was assisted by a Bendahara ( Prime Minister ), a Penghulu Bendahari (Minister of Finance), a Temenggung (Chief of Police) and a Laksamana (Admiral). Below them were the various titled nobles.
Saiful Anuar

No comments: